in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth

cali4niachef

Member since: 02-10-2009
Last visited: 07-18-2010
Timezone: -5.00 GMT
Location: Delaware
Occupation: SAHM/Student
Interests: midwifery, birth, breastfeeding
Birthday:
05-07-1980
(33 years old)
Total Posts: 43
Post Rank: 4
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

About Cindy

I was born and raised in northern California. I have 3 brothers and 4 sisters. I lived in Northern Calfornia for 18yrs (in the San Francisco Bay Area and Modesto) then joined the Air Force in 1998. After basic training and technical school I got stationed in Dover, Delaware. After separating from military I went to culinary college at Baltimore International College; I got my degree in Professional Baking & Pastry and graduated with honors. I am especially proud of this accomplishment because I commuted daily (86 miles one way) for 15 months. sometimes I had labs at 7AM! Yikes, I am NOT a morning person. I spent 5wks in Ireland doing a culinary externship. My first job out of college was working at Roma Italian restaurant as the pastry chef/garde manger/prep for a month. It was an awful restaurant to work in. Then I attempted to help a man start up a restaurant in Chestertown, MD. After not getting paid for several weeks I left. I was doing everything at the restaurant from scheduling, to ordering, purchasing, baking, etc. Then I worked at Fish On! in Lewes for a year as the pastry chef/prep/garde' manger/fry. I worked with great chefs and learned a lot. I've been teaching baking courses at Polytech off and on since fall of 2005. I've been in the reasturant business since I was 16. The only positions I haven't worked was bar, grill and saute. I've been a hostess, waitress, and busser. See I said I've worked nearly every position in a restuarant. For over 12yrs I had planned to open my own coffeehouse and bakery. However in September 2007 I felt the Lord was calling me into midwifery so I have set aside my life-long dream of owning a coffeehouse. I met my husband in April of 2000 and we married in May of 2001. I gave birth to our first son Reed on September 10th, 2005 and our second son Jonas on March 18th 2008. My birth stories are in my journal. My husband is an elementary school teacher of 15yrs. He also teaches at Groves/Polytech part-time. He is in a southern gospel band called Two Mile Road. He is also a deacon at our church. I am a SAHM (stay-at-home-mom). I worked as a Peer Breastfeeding Counselor at Kent General and Milford Memorial for 2.5yrs helping women on WIC. I am currently working on becoming a LLL Leader and starting a group in Milford. I am a studying to become home birth midwife. I hope to start my midwifery apprenticeship after I complete nursing school. I attend the nursing program at the DelTech Owens campus. Pregnancy, birth and breastfeeding consumes me. I have been christian for over 12 years. I equate the christian walk to ridding a roller coaster blind folded. There are ups and downs, peaks and valleys and you never know which will come next - you must have faith. Did I mention I love coffee? There are no words to explain my obsession with coffee.

Recommended Reading

Subscribe to Midwifery Today magazine
Contact UsTerms of UsePrivacy PolicyAbout Us
© 2014 Midwifery Today, Inc.