in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

Wise words re:- Vit k??

Last post 07-29-2009 9:27 AM by midwifea. 15 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (16 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 06-06-2009 9:32 AM

Wise words re:- Vit k??

Hi ladies, im new here and am seeking some words of wisdom from you all....Im a midwife/doula in SA.....could anyone share their protocol re vit k with me....as it stands at the moment, we advise NOT to administer if babe has delayed cord clamping, breastfed and vernix left intact......but advise to give of birth was traumatic (forceps/caesar)...there seems to be so much conflicting info out there, was just wondering what you guys do? Many thanks for the advise..

Ann

• 06-07-2009 10:44 AM In reply to

• midwifea
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-12-2009
    • Kailua Kona, HI
    • Posts 475

Re: Wise words re:- Vit k??

Ann,

Does S.A stand for South America?  If so, where?

Are you doing homebirths?

Back to your post;  Personally, I am only doing homebirths, I carry oral vit K, (botanical base) and offer parents information regarding the vit K issue prenatally so they can make an informed choice at birth.  At birth, I offer it, but don't recommend it if all has gone smoothly.  If mama has had a hard or prolonged pushing phase, baby has some unusual caput or bruising on the head or was malpositioned in some way then I recommend.  Breastfeeding, delayed cord clamping, vernix melting are all part of the birth at home anyway.  I feel I am somewhat representative of my peers who practice near me.  Does that help?

Blessings,
    April

"The Voice

There is a voice inside of you
    That whispers all day long,
    "I feel this is right for me,
    I know that this is wrong."
    No teacher, preacher, parent, friend
    Or wise man can decide
    What's right for you--just listen to
    The voice that speaks inside."
    — Shel Silverstein