in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

Possible failure to thrive issues, need wisdom please

Last post 09-12-2013 9:49 PM by Brandon_Roth. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 12-04-2012 11:07 PM

• kcstark
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 12-05-2012
    • Germany
    • Posts 3

Possible failure to thrive issues, need wisdom please

Good morning!  I hope this is in the right forum.  I am a student doula, midwife wannabee, and lactation consultant located in Germany.  I have a new mother, second child, two weeks old, solely breastfed.  Delivery was amazing, Mom is doing great however I have a question regarding loss of birthweight of newborn and lack of regain at two weeks.  I have been working with her to make sure successful breastfeeding is an option.

With first son, had inverted nipple issues, breastfed successfully for well over a year using a shield.  Mom's milk has come in and has a good latch, baby is feeding well, 15-20 mins at a time, every 1.5-3 hours.  7-10 wet diapers 4-6 poopy diapers daily.  Birthweight 7'15.  Still under birthweight at two weeks at 7'10.  Mom is using the Mother's Milk Tea and other options to increase production and quality.  She had a fairly busy schedule at first, felt great, has scaled it back considerably as we thought that perhaps that was interfereing with quality issues.  Has just begun skin to skin while feeding.  She is optomistic but is beginning to get discouraged.

German doctors are a little more laid back than American but are beginning to get nervous about his weight and are talking about supplementing.  Advice is welcome.

Thank you,
    Cheryl Stark

Cheryl A. Stark
  • 12-05-2012 8:53 AM In reply to

• midwifea
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-12-2009
    • Kailua Kona, HI
    • Posts 475

Re: Possible failure to thrive issues, need wisdom please

Welcome Cheryl,