in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

question about cord clamping and giving pitocin

Last post 05-17-2012 5:46 PM by Brlnbabies. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 05-06-2012 9:49 AM

• newbe
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 11-09-2011
    • Posts 4

question about cord clamping and giving pitocin

hi! i work in a hospital as a midwife and there we must give pitocin after birth. I have noticed that if i administer Pitocin IM ( 10- 20 units) right after baby is born the mother bleeds a lot less (100 CC blood) then when i wait and give the Pitocin (IM or IV) after the placenta comes out (300-500 CC). So, in knowing that, i would always administer the pitocin right after baby was born. but here is the dilema,  I would also love to clamp the cord after it stops pulsing but i am worried that the pitocin that i gave the mother might harm the baby b/c it is a big amount and the baby is still attached. i know the baby has a lot of oxytocin right after birth, but if he gets it unnaturally, and its so much, maybe it could harm him, like high/low blood pressure which we know the pitocin sometimes does to the mother. 

what do you think?

another question,  one of the causes of neonatal jaundice is polycetemia, and if the baby is attached longer to the cord to the placenta he will get more blood so it can cause neonatal jaundice and sometimes he will need phototherapy and that is more seperation from the mother and anxiety etc etc. first- do no harm, so, maybe i should clamp the cord fast? now i know clamping the cord later will also raise the hemoglobin of the baby in his first few months which is great, but i am in an area of the world where there is great nutrition so i am not so worried about the hemoglobin. what do you think?

thank you!!

• 05-06-2012 10:58 AM In reply to

Re: question about cord clamping and giving pitocin