in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

attending an unassisted birth

Last post 11-14-2010 11:24 PM by Syracusedoula. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-20-2010 5:04 PM

attending an unassisted birth

I am a doula and student midwife. A friend of mine is pregnant and has decided to have an unassisted birth and has asked me to be her doula.

Hmmm.

Personally, I would not choose an unassisted birth for myself. I value the skills and support of midwives. And aside from the obvious possible emergencies that worry me, I am also concerned that nobody will be monitoring baby during labor, that mother is receiving no prenatal care through pregnancy and that a simple complication that could easily be remedied by a midwife (like a laceration requiring stitches) would mean a trip to the hospital. Also, should a serious complication arise, I would technically be the one with the most knowledge of birth, and in such a case it seem inevitable that the responsibility would fall into my hands. And I am FAR from qualified to hold that responsibility. 

So those are some of my fears around being at the birth. On the other side, however, I have a very deep trust in birth and in the mother-baby to work out complications together. And although I may be the one at the birth with the most birth experience, I am also aware that a laboring woman has access to all the knowledge and wisdom of her foremothers.  I trust and honor a woman's decision to birth at home unassisted. The question for me is 'am I comfortable with being present at an unassisted birth.' I don't know. I do know that, if I attend her birth, I must make my role clear to her and to myself right from the beginning. I am a doula, not a midwife.  She is choosing an unassisted birth, not a birth assisted by a student midwife. But how do I put my student-midwife-self aside to attend to her as a friend?