in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

Midwifery vs. Obstetrics

Last post 11-10-2010 10:24 AM by marlenecpm. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 09-30-2010 1:06 PM

Midwifery vs. Obstetrics

Hey, I'm a college student looking to go into natal care. I'm willing to do years of schooling of training (I swear my real calling is to become a professional student), but I was wondering what the real difference between a midwife and an obstetrician is. I have a list of questions that I would really like answered to help me decide on which path I want to go down.

1.) Many sites have given me different answers but how much training is put into becoming a midwife?

2.) Do midwives only work in large cities?

3.) What is the average salary of a midwife?

4.) I know that if you are a nurse it can take many years of experience to finally be able to work your way up to the neonatal floor of the hospital but if you become a midwife do you automatically start working with expectant mothers?

5.) Does a midwife really have power within the birthing room or is a midwife just the assistant to the OB?

Thank you for reading and answering my questions!!!

Filed under: ,
  • 09-30-2010 2:35 PM In reply to

Re: Midwifery vs. Obstetrics

1.) Many sites have given me different answers but how much training is put into becoming a midwife? Depends on what path you on go on.

2.) Do midwives only work in large cities?  Nope, but work all the place

3.) What is the average salary of a midwife?  Unsure

4.) I know that if you are a nurse it can take many years of experience to finally be able to work your way up to the neonatal floor of the hospital but if you become a midwife do you automatically start working with expectant mothers?  Unsure

5.) Does a midwife really have power within the birthing room or is a midwife just the assistant to the OB?  Yup, they have the power in the birthing room.