in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

placenta retention

Last post 01-26-2010 2:58 PM by Brlnbabies. 14 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 11-11-2009 7:55 PM

• Anita
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 11-12-2009
    • Posts 1

placenta retention

any ideas as to what to do when there is placenta retention?

I am a missionary midwife serving in Guatemala,I grew up here, my parents came from Pa. we continue to serve the Lord here and the people of Guatemala.

• 11-12-2009 8:36 AM In reply to

Re: placenta retention

I have a good midwife friend who says that with a "sticky placenta" you can ask the mama to stand up and give a few good coughs to see if that will dislodge the placenta if it appears to be slow in coming.

I have a book entitled Where Women Have No Doctor: health guide for women by Burns et al.  It's put out by the Hesperian Foundation out of Berkley CA.  I was able to get mine for free and I bet you can, too.  They also put out A Guide for Midwives and several other publications which are helpful for people working in developing countries. (www.hesperian.org) Here's what that book says about retained placenta (p92-93):

"If the mother is too weak to deliver the placenta herself or if she is bleeding so heavily she becomes faint, you may need to help guide the placenta out.  Only do this if you believe the woman's life is in danger.  First look for signs that the placenta has separated.

1. Mark the cord by tying a clean string around it about a hand's width from the vagina.
    2. Put one hando n teh mother's abdomen just about her pubic bone. Wait until her womb feels hard and push upward toward her head.