in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Australia

What's happening in Italy???

Last post 08-06-2009 4:42 AM by amyworsham. 22 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 05-13-2009 5:22 PM

What's happening in Italy???

Anything interesting going on in Italy? I spend the summers there and I would like to be involved with birth but don't know anyone who is having babies outside of the hospital.

Let me know if you are there or you know anything.

All the best,

Rivka

Rivka Cymbalist, BA, CD(DONA)
    birth attendant
    @montrealdoula
  • 06-25-2009 2:53 AM In reply to

home birth in italy

Hi Rivka,

I am an italian midwife and i am 25 weeks pregnant i am due in the begging of october...I am looking for a midwife because i would love to have an home birth but where i live there are not midwife available for home birth!!!!!! how long are you staying in italy for?

• 06-30-2009 10:07 AM In reply to

Re: What's happening in Italy???

Hello Rivka and Manuela,

have you heard about the midwifery school of Verena Schmid? It might be a starting point.

Their website is:

http://www.marsupioscuola.it/

Good luck to both of you!

Nina

Nina Rinkes, homebirth midwife

"Life shrinks and expands in relation to one's courage." Anais Nin
  • 07-18-2009 11:25 PM In reply to

Hi,

Not sure where to post this, but I am currently living in Italy and about 8 weeks pregnant with my 4th and looking for a midwife for a homebirth or birthing center.  I live near lago di Garda in the province of Brescia.  I speak little Italian so I am looking for a midwife who can speak English.  Does anyone here know of anyone who would be able to help?

Thank you in advance 

Rebecca

Filed under: ,
  • 07-24-2009 3:05 AM In reply to

There are homebirth midwives all over Italy, Marsupio I think in MIlan and another in Florence. Verena Schmidt is in Florence...

Good luck,

Rivka

birth attendant