in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

Student midwife question

Last post 04-29-2009 7:16 AM by MotherNurtured. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 04-02-2009 10:15 AM

• Ranni
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-02-2009
    • Posts 3

Student midwife question

Hello, I am an apprenticing midwife and am wondering if there any others out there who are taking an apprenticship path to becoming a midwife without a formal academic program?  I see quite a bit about AAMI and other programs but am curious if anyone else is pursuing this path to midwifery?
    Ranni

• 04-02-2009 3:52 PM In reply to

Re: Student midwife question

I am taking an apprenticing path. I agree, I don't know many others taking this path. I know the Midwife who delivered me and am hoping she will take me on as an apprentice. :)

• 04-02-2009 6:14 PM In reply to

I have known several people in a few different countries who have taken this path, and interestingly enough, they never really saw it as their chosen mode of learning....it was more that several years down the track and heaps of experience and learning they realised what had sort of happened on its own.  Talk about the momentum of working with birth taking on a life of its own!

• 04-02-2009 6:31 PM In reply to

• Ranni
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 04-02-2009
    • Posts 3