in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Australia

Advice re prelabour rupture of membranes please!!!

Last post 06-23-2009 9:28 AM by Brlnbabies. 29 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (30 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-11-2009 12:42 PM

• scala
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-11-2009
    • Posts 6

Advice re prelabour rupture of membranes please!!!

Hello all,

So glad to have found this forum, and hope you can offer me some wisdom. I am a midwife practising in the Uk, as is my dear friend whose baby is officially 'due' tomorrow. In the early hours of the morning her membranes ruptured. Clear fluid. She has been leaking all day, and has some mild irregular aches ever since but nothing that has yet established. She is planning a home birth. She is trying nipple stimulation to try and bring contractions on, but do you guys have any other tips or wisdom that you suggest she try,

Local policy is augmentation after just 24 hours which she has declined.

Many thanks in advance, blessings

XxXx

• 03-11-2009 2:52 PM In reply to

Re: Advice re prelabour rupture of membranes please!!!

There are a few things to do. Obviously the protocol can be accepted or declined by the mother, and she needs to keep herself informed and avoid infection at all cost. So no baths, wiping front to back when going to toilet, no intercourse... I reccomend taking Vitamin C 1000mg every three hours as well as taking temperature.

There is a lot that can be done with herbs such as Raspberry leaf tea (drink infusion of the leaves themselves, even 10 cups a day) and essential oil of Clary Sage - this can be massaged into the abdomen and lower back.

Homeopathic remedies can be used in this situation.