in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Australia

Dopplers, again...

Last post 03-08-2009 9:59 AM by MotherNurtured. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-03-2009 7:01 AM

Dopplers, again...

I posted about finding used dopplers, and thanks to everyone who responded, it really really helped!

Now that I've tapped into the world of relatively inexpensive dopplers - I need some advice.  There are so many brands.  The one I've found on Ebay is a SonoTrax Pro for a decent price.  There are a couple more out there too - but I guess my question is - Are there any brands that you've tried and didn't like?  Brands to stay away from because of low quality?  Favorite dopplers, and for what reason?

Thanks very very much in advance.  Novice here who wants to research before buying.

Smile

mother to a shining precious one
    and beginning my midwifery apprenticeship in March!
  • 03-03-2009 1:22 PM In reply to

Re: Dopplers, again...

When I first started working with J, I bought one of the Sonotrax.  It's okay, but I wasn't too impressed with the volume as it didn't get all that loud IMO so I exchanged it for a Huntleigh and have been happy with it.  J always buys the Nicolet dopplers... I like the probe in a lot of ways- it's shorter and wider and has a broad beam which can make finding FHT a little easier.  Otoh, I tend to end up with gel on my hands more often (I find gel annoyingly sticky).

One of the reasons I ultimately went with the Huntleigh is because the probe clicks into the side of the doppler so is protected when not in use whereas the Nicolet doppler head is exposed all of the time. 

A sonotrax is certainly a good starter doppler, you could try out the other midwives' dopplers and get a feel for what you like before you spend more.  Have fun shopping!