in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

Mercy in Action Midwifery School?

Last post 01-12-2012 12:44 PM by kimberlyjdaly. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 12-19-2011 7:15 PM

Mercy in Action Midwifery School?

Has anyone had any experience with Mercy in Action Midwifery School?  I'm a home birth midwife and my assistant is looking into becoming a CPM through this school.  She makes it sound too good to be true.  Anyone have any experience with this distance education school?

• 12-26-2011 8:47 PM In reply to

Re: Mercy in Action Midwifery School?

I am finishing up module one right now in this program.   I would describe it as "guided self study."   I know one person who is about to finish up with the program and she feels very prepared from the course and her apprenticeship.

Basically you research the subjects/questions provided in each module, make index cards of vocabulary words and then take a quiz after each one.    I don't have much experience with it yet, but it seems like a good option for someone doing self study, but needing guidance along the way.

Kim

• 01-12-2012 12:16 PM In reply to

@Kimberly,

I have emailed the creator of the school with some questions and the first time she wrote me back she kind of skirted over the issues I asked about, and when I wrote her again and asked if she could help me I never heard back from her.

I know that she is a very busy women, but it's been over a month now since I wrote her.... I guess what I'm wondering is what has your communication with the school been like?

Thanks

• 01-12-2012 12:44 PM In reply to