in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Harrisburg

PPH - what to do at a home birth?

Last post 12-08-2011 12:09 PM by marlenecpm. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 11-09-2011 9:53 AM

• newbe
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 11-09-2011
    • Posts 4

PPH - what to do at a home birth?

Hello! I'm a new midwife (about a year now) and I work in a hospital. I had a case and was wondering what would you do if this happened at a homebirth.  The women was having her 7th child, (no history of cesarians) was induced b/c of post date and non reasurring heart rate for fetus, and PIH in the last week. Active stage of labor was an hour. After baby came out screaming, 2 minutes after (cord still attached) PPH started. Placenta did not seperate from the uterus wall. (I didn't give Pitocin b/c we usually give only after placenta in delivered where i work and i thought she may need lesis/revisio.) couldn't give methergine b/c blood pressure was high 154/94. I called the doctor, urine catheter (only about 200 cc of urine) perinieum was great.  When the doctor came,4 minutes after birth, she tried getting the placenta out...10 minutes after birth placenta came out. did a revisio but uterus was clean.  PPH was about 1000 cc.  babys wieght is 3,400 kilo. mother and baby are fine. once placenta came out, no more PPH.  But the big question is, what would you do at a home birth??  

thank you for answering!

• 11-09-2011 6:30 PM In reply to

• midwifea
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-12-2009
    • Kailua Kona, HI
    • Posts 475

Re: PPH - what to do at a home birth?

Newbe,

While I can't tell you exactly how I would've handled that birth at home because that birth did happen in a hospital, I can give you a run down about how that 'scenario' might play out at home. Does that make sense?