in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Australia

Seeking Apprenticeship in Naples, Italy

Last post 10-24-2012 12:20 PM by Indigo Babies. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 09-09-2011 3:30 PM

Seeking Apprenticeship in Naples, Italy

Hello, my name is Alex and I am an aspiring midwife who is living in Naples, Italy for the next 3 years. Is there anyone in the area who speaks English or would be very patient with my horrible Italian, who would be willing to take on an apprentice? Also, I am currently looking at the syllabus provided by the National College of Midwifery because it is really the only way I can start my education overseas. If anyone knows another system that I could use, I would very much appreciate the advice.

Thanks so much,

Alex

• 10-08-2011 7:47 PM In reply to

Re: Seeking Apprenticeship in Naples, Italy

Hi Alex,

I was in your position in Italy 25 years ago - I took the Apprentice Academics, which is now Ancient Arts course. It's hard studying at a distance...

Now I am only in Italy over the summers but I would be happy to meet up with you if possible next summer to see what you're up to and to talk birth in Italy a little. I know that homebirth midwives are much more active and common in central and northern Italy.

I could write to my contacts there with your request...

I'm planning a Birth Retreat next July in Umbria, you may be interested in attending...

In the meantime, what brings you to Naples?

Be well,

Rivka (living in Montreal, but lived and raised four of my children on a small farm in Italy)

Rivka Cymbalist, BA, CD(DONA)
    birth attendant
    @montrealdoula
  • 02-08-2012 11:11 AM In reply to

Hi Rivka,