in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Australia

direct-entry programs

Last post 07-25-2009 6:59 PM by MotherNurtured. 61 replies.
Page 1 of 5 (62 items) 1 2 3 4 5 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-05-2009 1:16 AM

• Jenni
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-05-2009
    • Baltimore, MD
    • Posts 22

direct-entry programs

Hi, everyone!

My name is Jenni and I live in Baltimore, MD. I'm currently working toward DONA International certification as a birth doula. I'm also an aspiring midwife.

Can anyone recommend a good DEM program (preferably MEAC-accredited)?

Has anyone studied at Birthingway College of Midwifery? Florida School of Traditional Midwifery? International School of Midwifery? I need feedback from current and former students!

Thanks so much!

doula-in-training, aspiring midwife
  • 02-13-2009 5:19 AM In reply to

Re: direct-entry programs

Hi Jenni!

I am a student of Ancient Art Midwifery and even though it isn't MEAC accredited I highly recommend it!  As far as education goes it is the best one out there.  Smile  If you have any questions about AAMI I would be happy to answer them.  It may take me a while to get back here, I just had my 12th baby 4 weeks ago today, but I will respond as soon as I get a chance.

Sherry

Sherry
    wife of a man seeking the heart of God
    mother of nine sons and three daughters (newest one born Jan. 27, 2009)
    grandmother of one grandaughter
  • 02-13-2009 3:55 PM In reply to

• CTaymor
    • Top 100 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-09-2009
    • SF Bay Area
    • Posts 11

Congrats on your baby, Sherry. I'm considering ancient arts midwifery institute, so I might have some questions later.

Caroline

~Aspiring Midwife~Looking into training options and learning like a sponge~
  • 02-13-2009 4:28 PM In reply to