in

Midwifery Today Community

A home for friends of birth
Attend the Midwifery Today conference in Australia

Midwife in Kampala, Uganda?

Last post 03-15-2012 1:50 PM by midwifejenny. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 08-04-2010 9:29 AM

Midwife in Kampala, Uganda?

I am planning on moving to Kampala, Uganda in March with my family. I am pregnant with my 4th baby and hope to give birth in Kampala at home with a midwife. I have had one hosptital birth in Thailand and two home births with midwives, all complication free. I will be having prenatal care in the States until we arrive in Uganda. Are there any midwives experianced in homebirth in Kampala ?

• 08-14-2010 2:18 PM In reply to

Re: Midwife in Kampala, Uganda?

Dear Kristen

I am an experienced British homebirth midwife, and there is just a chance that I will be going out to Kampala next year.  It would be good to stay in touch in case I get there.  Have you been before?  What will you be doing out there?

You can read more about me at www.3shiresmidwife.co.uk.

Best wishes

Valerie

Valerie Gommon
    Independent Midwife
    www.3shiresmidwife.co.uk
    www.BirthIndex.co.uk
  • 08-23-2010 2:26 PM In reply to

Valerie,

Thank you for your response. We plan to move to Kampala in Feb and my due date is April 1st. My husband will be bringing his business to Kampala. Will you be visiting or moving to Kampala? If you have been there, do you feel the hospitals are in good condition if transport was needed during labor? We have not visited so I am trying to find out all I can about the birth climate and if giving birth in Uganda is a comfortable option. Thank you for your time. Blessing- Kristen

• 09-10-2010 2:58 PM In reply to

Hi Kristen